Violet Made Of Thorns by Gina Chen Review

Title: Violet Made of Thorns
Author: Gina Chen
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy Romance
Publishing date: 26th July 2022
Rating: 4 /5 stars

A darkly enchanting fantasy debut about a morally gray witch, a cursed prince, and a prophecy that ignites their fate-twisted destinies—perfect for fans of The Cruel Prince and Serpent & Dove.

Violet is a prophet and a liar, influencing the royal court with her cleverly phrased—and not always true—divinations. Honesty is for suckers, like the oh-so-not charming Prince Cyrus, who plans to strip Violet of her official role once he’s crowned at the end of the summer—unless Violet does something about it.

But when the king asks her to falsely prophesy Cyrus’s love story for an upcoming ball, Violet awakens a dreaded curse, one that will end in either damnation or salvation for the kingdom—all depending on the prince’s choice of future bride. Violet faces her own choice: Seize an opportunity to gain control of her own destiny, no matter the cost, or give in to the ill-fated attraction that’s growing between her and Cyrus.

Violet’s wits may protect her in the cutthroat court, but they can’t change her fate. And as the boundary between hatred and love grows ever thinner with the prince, Violet must untangle a wicked web of deceit in order to save herself and the kingdom—or doom them all.

A big thank you to TBR and Beyond Tours for including me and sending me a copy to review for this Blog Tour!

Click here to check out the rest of the amazing bloggers on this tour!

Book Links:

GoodreadsAmazonB & NBook DepositoryIndigoIndieBound

My thoughts: Violet Made Of Thorns is a steamy enemies-to-lovers, fairytale retelling with twists and turns around ever corner. The world is so full of magic and interesting characters, and has a prophecy, a witch, and a magical wood.

This story follows Violet, an insightful girl with hilariously sarcastic wit. She is a seer who has drawn the attention of the royal family after saving the Prince. While the King manipulates her to serve his own purpose, it leaves Violet not fully trained thus she doesn’t fully understand her powers.

I didn’t really warm to Cyrus to be honest. He is a very complex character that demands respect from everyone and he can be quite charming, but not to Violet however. They absolutely loathe each other, which makes for a juicy enemies-to-lovers trope. Hopefully we’ll get to see his character develop more in book two.

There were many things left unexplained before the end of this book, such as the prophecy and the monsters, but as this is a duology, I’m hopeful that these will be wrapped up in the second book.

Hope you all enjoyed my review! I really enjoyed this one! Happy reading x

About the Author

Gina Chen tells stories about fantastic worlds featuring heroines, antiheroines, and the kind of cleverness that brings trouble in its wake. A self-taught artist with a degree in computer science, she generates creative nonsense in all forms of media and always has a project stewing. Violet Made of Thorns is her debut fantasy novel. For more info, visit actualgina.com and follow @actualgina on Twitter and Instagram.

Author Links:

WebsiteTwitterInstagramGoodreadsTumblr

Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: