Cast in Firelight by Dana Swift Review

Title: Cast in Firelight
Author: Dana Swift
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Publishing date: 19th January 2021
Rating: 5/5 stars

The first book in an epic, heart-pounding fantasy duology about two royal heirs betrothed to be married, but whose loyalties are torn, and a ruthless enemy who threatens their world, perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Hafsah Faizal, and Renée Ahdieh.

Adraa is the royal heir of Belwar, a talented witch on the cusp of taking her royal ceremony test, and a girl who just wants to prove her worth to her people. Jatin is the royal heir to Naupure, a competitive wizard who’s mastered all nine colors of magic, and a boy anxious to return home for the first time since he was a child. Together, their arranged marriage will unite two of Wickery’s most powerful kingdoms. But after years of rivalry from afar, Adraa and Jatin only agree on one thing: their reunion will be anything but sweet. Only, destiny has other plans and with the criminal underbelly of Belwar suddenly making a move for control, their paths cross…and neither realizes who the other is, adopting separate secret identities instead. Between dodging deathly spells and keeping their true selves hidden, the pair must learn to put their trust in the other if either is to uncover the real threat. Now Wickery’s fate is in the hands of rivals..? Fiancées..? Partners..? Whatever they are, it’s complicated and bound for greatness or destruction.

Thank you so much to TBR and Beyond Tours for including me and sending me a copy to review for this Blog Tour!

Click here to check out the rest of the amazing bloggers on this tour!

Book Links:

GoodreadsAmazonB & NBookDepositoryIndigoIndieBound

My thoughts:
Here it is guys! My first 5 star review of the year ❤️ One word to describe this book would be: captivating. I was so thoroughly engrossed in this book that hours would pass without me realising. When I say I couldn’t put it down, I really mean I couldn’t put it down 😂

Cast in Firelight follows both Adraa and Jatin on their path to wield all nine colours of magic: Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, Pink, Purple, Black and White. While Jatin excels in all fortes, Adraa has always trouble with it. A fact he does not let her forget.

But as the criminal underbelly of Belwar makes a play to take control, messing with something close to Adraa’s heart, the two royals pair up to bring the threat down. But there’s a catch, neither knows who the other really is.

I really liked both characters point of view. I feel like I could get to know them both and see both sides. I also loved how they are both complete opposites in relation to their magic. Jatin excels in ice magic while Adraa excels in fire magic. Ice and fire. They were always bound to clash.

Cast in Firelight is perfect for fans of Hafsah Faizal, Sabaa Tahir and Alwyn Hamilton, who is one of my absolute favourite authors! From the first page, this book gave me Rebel of the Sands vibes 😍

Hope you all enjoyed my review! ❤️ I really enjoyed reading this one! Have you guys read Cast in Firelight yet? Let me know what you thought of it in the comments. Bye guys, happy reading! x

About the Author

Dana Swift started making up fantasy worlds when she was eleven years old and hasn’t stopped since. She graduated from the University of Texas at Austin, where she earned degrees in English and Advertising. While in college, Dana competed as a saber fencer and learned a thing or two about fighting, parrying and how it feels to fall in love with your sparring partner. She currently lives with said husband in Miami, Florida.

Author Links:

WebsiteTwitterInstagramGoodreadsFacebook

Giveaway (US only):
One person will win a finished copy of Cast in Firelight! This giveaway ends on January 25th. Click here to enter! Good luck ❤️

Book Reviews

4 Comments Leave a comment

Leave a Reply to Georgia @ Lost in Neverland Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: